--- title: "Deactivating and Activating a User Account" slug: "deactivating-a-user-account" description: "Disable a user within the Decisions Portal. This task can be completed by checking and un-checking the Is Active checkbox in the Account Edit Entity." tags: ["admin topics", "account", "creating account", "user management ", "portal settings"] updated: 2026-07-22T21:22:00Z published: 2026-07-22T21:22:00Z canonical: "documentation.decisions.com/deactivating-a-user-account" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://documentation.decisions.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deactivating and Activating a User Account ## Overview In some instances, an Admin may wish to disable an [**Account**](https://documentation.decisions.com/version-10/docs/adding-a-user-account) but reserve its associated **Email** for further use in **Flows**/**Reports** as a **DataType** or **Data** **Source**. This can be achieved through the use of the **Deactivate Action**. In doing so, Admins prohibit access to the **Account** without removing the Account completely from the environment. Alternately, if the Admin wishes to in the future, they may Re-**Activate** the Account. The following document demonstrates the method by which Admins may **Deactivate** and Re-Activate Accounts. Centralized Account Management with Deployment Server If your environment is connected to the Deployment Server, manage centralized user accounts from the Deployment Server. Administrators can create accounts on the Deployment Server and assign them to connected environments to keep access consistent across Development, QA, and other connected servers. After an account is assigned to an environment, the account information synchronizes with that environment. Permissions specific to projects, folders, or other security settings must still be configured directly in the target environment where the user will work. For more information, see: [Managing Accounts with the Deployment Server](https://documentation.decisions.com/docs/managing-accounts-with-the-deployment-server) --- ## Deactivate Account 1. Navigate to **System > Security > Accounts**. 2. Right-click on the desired **Account** to access its **Action** **Menu**; then select **More > Deactivate [AccountEmail]**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783015054151.png) 3. **Confirm** **Deactivation** by selecting YES.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783015073867.png) 4. Verify that the **Account** has been successfully deactivated by attempting to LOGIN with its credentials. Logging in with a Deactivated Account Upon attempting to login with an **Account's** deactivated credentials, an **Invalid Username or Password** notification will display on the Login screen. Additionally, the IS ACTIVE column value for the Account in the **Accounts** **Folder** will display as **False**.  ![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783015130492.png) --- ## Activate Account 1. Navigate to **System > Security > Accounts** in the **Decisions** **Studio**. 2. Right-click the Deactivated **Account** and select **More > Activate [AccountEmail**].![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783015158318.png) 3. Select YES in the **Confirm** **Activation** window. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783015177263.png) 4. Verify that the **Account** was reactivated by attempting to LOGIN with its credentials.