--- title: "Creating Groups" slug: "creating-groups" description: "Add a group to a Decisions instance. Groups are collections of accounts that share a common set of responsibilities. Sorting users into groups helps organize assignments, permissions, and other properties for multiple accounts at once." tags: ["admin topics", "account", "creating a group", "Groups"] updated: 2026-07-22T21:21:39Z published: 2026-07-22T21:21:39Z canonical: "documentation.decisions.com/creating-groups" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://documentation.decisions.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Creating Groups ## Overview **Groups** are collections of [User accounts](https://documentation.decisions.com/version-10/docs/adding-a-user-account) that share similar responsibilities or system access [permissions](/version-10/docs/about-folder-portal-permissions). They allow Admins to better organize Accounts in an environment by designated **Role** or administrative hierarchy. For example, an environment may contain four groups of Users: Tests, Developers, Marketing, and Admins. By sorting these Users into Groups, applying specified [permissions](https://documentation.decisions.com/version-10/docs/about-folder-portal-permissions), and creating group-specific Pages and Dashboards, Admins can create a more uniform and specified work environment. The following document demonstrates how to create a group and how to add/remove accounts from them. Note About User PermissionsOnly Admin Users are able to create and manage Groups and Accounts in the platform. Designers and general Users are only able to view existing Groups and Accounts within a given Project.Centralized Account Management with Deployment Server If your environment is connected to the Deployment Server, manage centralized user accounts from the Deployment Server. Administrators can create accounts on the Deployment Server and assign them to connected environments to keep access consistent across Development, QA, and other connected servers. After an account is assigned to an environment, the account information synchronizes with that environment. Permissions specific to projects, folders, or other security settings must still be configured directly in the target environment where the user will work. For more information, see: [Managing Accounts with the Deployment Server](https://documentation.decisions.com/docs/managing-accounts-with-the-deployment-server) --- ## Create a Group 1. Within the desired Designer Folder, navigate to **Settings > Security > Groups.** Click **CREATE GROUP** on the **Global** **Action** **Bar.** **![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014495353.png)** 2. In the **Create Group** window, provide a **Group** **Name.** 3. Add a **Default Folder**; this will be the "Landing Page" for anyone in the Group. Then click **SAVE.**![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014532780.png)If an Account belongs to multiple Groups, the last configured Default Folder will override the previously configured Groups. If an Account has a Default Folder set on their individual Account Settings, this will override any Group Default Folder. 4. Confirm that the new **Group** appears in the **Groups in the Current Folder Report**; selecting it will display any associated **Accounts** under **Accounts In Selected Group****Report**. | Group Settings | Descriptions | | --- | --- | | Group Name | Name of the Group. | | Group Description | Describe the use of the Group. | | Default Folder | This will be the folder Decisions opens when Users in this Group log in. | | Type | Available types are Local and Remote. Local is for Groups created within Decisions. Remote is for Groups that were created through Active Directory. | | Specify Sync Group | Syncs accounts within another group to this group. Provides additional options to add, remove, and unhook groups and accounts. | | Specify [Linked Groups](/version-10/docs/using-base-groups) | Applies permissions from one group to another group. | | [Default URL Parameters](/version-10/docs/custom-url-parameters) | Change the view of the Portal/Studio for the Group. | --- ## Add/Remove Accounts from a Group 1. From the desired Designer Folder, navigate to **Settings > Security > Groups**, right-click the desired Group, then select **Add/Remove Accounts**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014550295.png) 2. From the resulting window, **Manage Accounts from Group: [GroupName]**, Users will see two reports: 1. **Available**: This Report shows all the accounts that are not assigned to the selected Group. 2. **Assigned**: This Report shows all the accounts that are already assigned to the selected Group.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014570601.png) 3. Select account/s from the left Report and click on the **Right Arrow** **>** button. This will move the accounts from the Available to the Assigned section, and the account will be added to the particular Group. When desired changed have been made, click **CLOSE**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014589140.png) 4. Similarly, to remove the accounts from the Group, select account/s from the Right Report (Assigned) and click on the **Left Arrow** **<** button. This will move the accounts from the Assigned to the Available, and the account will be removed from the Group. When desired changed have been made, click **CLOSE**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014607383.png) --- ## Add/Remove Groups Assigned to an Account 1. From **System > Security > Accounts**, right-click the desired account, then select **Add/Remove Groups**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014630032.png) 2. From the resulting window, **Manage Group for Accounts: [AccountName]** Users will see 2 reports: 1. **Available**: This Report shows all the Groups that are not assigned to the selected Account. 2. **Assigned**: This Report shows all the Groups that are already assigned to the selected Account.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014647714.png) 3. Select Group/s from the left Report (Available) and click on the **Right Arrow** **>** button. This will move the Group/s from the Available to the Assigned section, and the Group will be assigned to the account. When desired changes have been made, click **CLOSE**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014668100.png) 4. Similarly, to remove an assigned Group from the account, select Group/s from the Right Report (Assigned) and click on the **Left Arrow <** button. This will move the Group/s from the Assigned to the Available section, and the Group will be disassociated from the account. When desired changes have been made, click **CLOSE**.![](https://cdn.document360.io/6ef8bcc1-6489-4486-9ad1-83acff7e5df0/Images/Documentation/image-1783014687240.png)